Week 3 Digital Story Critique: Wonder

Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 9.25.07 PM.png

OK, now I’m in tears writing this post. Now I understand the artwork of 4th grade students I’ve been walking by for some weeks now. I just thought, “what a great idea…have a non-face persons” and let students create the character. My mother gave my own girls an Amish doll with no facial features, so my mind drifted back to that simple doll. Why don’t they have faces I ask my mom? She tells me the dolls are to represent everyone, everyone in this whole wide world. Everyone. So how clever for a different way to depict how we are all special, created uniquely. Or so I thought….until I JUST, literally stumbled upon this. I can’t even tell you how or why I did. I’m just going with it.
So, here we go. Maybe you should get your Kleenex out, just maybe. It’s never to early or too late to learn. Never. Some of you probably already know about this. That’s good. The more that know, the better our world will be, perhaps.

YouTube Link: WONDER  by RJ Palacio

Link to pertinent articleMEDICAL ALERT

Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 10.01.40 PM.png

Beyond my art work above, I chose to look at the following for the video clip that advertises the book, Wonder: Sense of Audience, Media Application and Media Grammar. For starters, I like the music, I like the narrative of the kid, I like how they film different settings with everyone looking at him or turning to look at him, I like the boy’s calm speech.  I like the catch phrase that ends this clip while he continues to walk…You can’t exactly blend in when you were born to stand out. 
  • Even though the unknown named boy encounters people in the clip who are his direct audience, I feel like I was the audience. I was drawn into his story. I wanted to see him, but I didn’t get to. As the boy went along, I did too. He pulled people with him. While there were definite audience members for the filming of this trailer, the audience is whoever finds this video clip or book. The media application and grammar were both appropriate and well done. It was a kid going through his day from school to heading home through a populated area, seemingly somewhere like NYC. It was really brilliant in that you hear him talking about how normal he is but IF he could make one wish, his wish would be to have a normal face. You get a sense of bravery, acknowledgment of his lot in life, resignation to the attention he will continue to get, and perhaps most striking is the depth of understanding that this 10 year old boy has. Whoever designed and did the filming was right on. Th only thing I can think of is perhaps all of the kids would not be standing along the walls in the school, especially looking toward the middle of the hall as he came walking down. It was almost like a football tunnel whereby all of the players come out and storm down the middle of the hoopla. In this case, the hoopla is produced by the boy walking toward them. 

 

Leave a Reply

