Resume Virtues & Eulogy Virtues

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 12.31.30 AMWhile skimming through fb and twitter I came upon a beautifully written article from the heart of David Brooks, an Op-Ed Columnist with The New York Times. His essay came from a recent work entitled “The Road to Character”, now on my must read book list.
“It occurred to me that there were two sets of virtues, the résumé virtues and the eulogy virtues. The résumé virtues are the skills you bring to the marketplace. The eulogy virtues are the ones that are talked about at your funeral — whether you were kind, brave, honest or faithful. Were you capable of deep love?”
Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 11.32.35 PM
Reads that take me to better places are what I enjoy. What will grow me into a better person or citizen? What will inspire? I usually carry a journal for sketching and note taking. When I hear on the radio or in a conference or among friends a title that resonates with me, I draw a book and write the title and author. Simple, visual, and good.

 

Leave a Reply

